Ms. Blackwood, you’d be proud.

7 Oct
Ms. Blackwood– You rock my World.

Never in a million years are you going to guess what I got into last week. I mean. Never. As you know from my post about meeting my only friend (rehash it here), I have a lot of time on my hands. Well, while looking for jobs I came across this, which is this amazing humungo space where one can get a coffee, look at some art and on Mondays, attend Turbo Trivia night hosted by Portia Turbo. I haven’t been yet, but that might be because I have spent the last week volunteering at the Sydney Children’s Festival!

Yes. I. Adrienne Michael Piersol. Have spent the last week hanging out with kids of all ages. Including this one:

Yes. I helped this girl make that mask. I spent about four hours a day there and it was really fun and very fulfilling. Because the kids are on school holidays (Down Undah speak for vacation), there were loads of them. And they could touch everything, smell, giggle, grab, roll over, fart on, scream at, yank, tugg, grab, and be involved with everything. It was an interactive arts based festival where the kids were the focus.

These plants were my favorite. They would sing to you, or make jungle noises, or sounds like fireflies in the night when you touched them.. gently. Which many kids did not understand how to do.

 

I would like some of these.

 

I guess I can admit it… I had fun picking up some of the little ones and watching their faces get squirmy, or press their heads up to the leaves when they heard the sounds.

Another really awesome place for kids was the life-size photo copier. I mean, who doesn’t want to copy themselves like this? My only issue was the boys who put their tongues on it and rubbed boogers on it after they had been copied picking their noses. This, I admit, got to be a bit too much for me.

And as you can see… I had to try too!

Oh yea.. I'm a kid again!I found this girl to be especially cute because she didn’t speak English, but yet when her mom said in Chinese to smile for the camera, she knew exactly how to pose.

 

I am too cute. Yes?

 

By the end of the week however, I was done with kids. Sure. It was a new thing for me… being around kids and being so high energy. And ya know what…I had fun and actually think I am good at being imaginative and energetic with them, but then I had to deal with parents. And that Ms. Blackwood took all the fun out of it.

At the end of the week, I was done with parents telling there kids to do the exact opposite of what I was telling them to do (be gentle I said…. punch it hard they would say). I can’t say that I will do it again, but it was awesome for being around Ozzie kids, for being out of the house and on my toes.

 

Chasing the Dinosaur

 

 

Watching the balloons blow up to be blown out

 

 

I think this kid has talent

 

So Ms. Blackwood…. Are you proud?

Oh yea. Then I cut all my hair off!

 

A new me for a new city.

 

I love you mom!

5 Responses to “Ms. Blackwood, you’d be proud.”

  1. Lauren October 7, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Ha ha this was quite unexpected to hear you were keeping this under wrap whenever we talked for sure. I Am sure you were the fun one to hang with! Love the hair, reminds me of someone……. Love you

  2. Myndi October 7, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    Haha yesss! Another great post. Love the hair cut, love the photos and I love that you worked with the kids. It can be such a challenge but also a rewarding experience. What a cool festival they have! The singing plants though, I’m assuming there is some sort of mechanical device in them? And are they plastic leaves or real ones? Super neat either way!

  3. Becky Sullivan October 12, 2010 at 1:45 am #

    I am very impressed that you hung out with children my friend. And I love the hair.
    Oh, and I just want to squeeze that little girl in the photo. You should make her your next friend.

  4. Christie Blackwood October 12, 2010 at 3:14 am #

    Adi friend—

    This was a one sided conversation until now. I LOOOOVED reading about your time with the kiddos…and also that you are done with your time with the kiddos! 🙂 I’m sure they loved having you around…especially that cute little Chinese girl! See if she would like to move to California to go to school with a very nice teacher that will teach her english..and not make her pose for photos! 🙂 LOVE THE HAIR! Miss you friend!

  5. Vonda Piersol November 13, 2010 at 4:17 am #

    for some reason I have missed all these posts. and just read all about you up to the B’s.

    I thought it would notify me of when a new post was made and so did not think you had made any. I love the chapters in your book. And I take full credit for the writing of a book idea. I have always said you should be an author. Childrens books seemed a good start and where have you spent the first little bit of time with but Children. I loved the animals and am so ready to hug you and Darren. Can’t wait. I do have a very busy schedule up to the sat before you arive in the states. but all will be decorated for your stay here and would love to have Darrens parents come too. Would they want to? Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

